Classic Strings International Competition in Israel

EUFSC-The-Strad-2The European Foundation for Support of Culture (EUFSC) will launch the third edition of its celebrated international Classic Strings competition for both violin and cello, that shall be taking place in Tel Aviv, Israel, between the 8th and the 23rd of May 2022.


The Classic Strings competition has already garnered considerable acclaim around the world on the strengths of the event’s first two iterations which received strong reviews that praised the competition’s quality and high production values. Now the Foundation has taken things to a new level, with the 2022 edition marking the largest competitive event for violin and cello that Israel has yet seen.


Everything, starting from the scale of the competition, to the standing of the jury members, and the prize fund for the winners, has been increased. The event shall see two separate competitions for the respective instruments being held simultaneously, with each to be divided into three rounds. Competitors shall be asked to play music by some of the most distinguished composers of the past, as well as pieces from modern composers, like the competition’s Composer-in-Residence Alexey Shor. The final round of the competitions shall then see the artists perform alongside the State Academic Symphony Orchestra of Russia “Evgeny Svetlanov”.


At the end, the winner of each competition shall receive a prize of €50,000, along with a 10-country European tour organised by the EUFSC, where they will perform alongside 10 different internationally-renowned orchestras. Meanwhile, the first and second runners-up shall be awarded €30,000, and €15,000, while there shall also be a €5,000 special prize in each competition in recognition of the best performance of Composer-in-Residence composition, as well as five finalist prizes of €1,000 each, to make up a total prize fund of €210,000.


The jury members for both instruments have been chosen from among some of the top musicians active today, and represent a vast range of talent and experience. French legend Marc-Olivier Dupin shall be chairing the violin board, which shall consist of Zakhar Bron (Germany/Switzerland), Dora Schwarzberg (Israel), Pavel Berman (Italy), Ana Chumachenco (Germany), Michael Guttman (Belgium), Pierre Amoyal (France), Boris Kuschnir (Austria), Eduard Wulfson (Switzerland), Maria Sozolobova (Switzerland), and Michael Haefliger (Switzerland). The cello jury shall be chaired by Sir Clive Gillinson (UK), and will have Hillel Zori (Israel), Enrico Dindo (Italy), Alexander Knyazev (Russia), Julian Lloyd Webber (UK), Ralph Kirshbaum (US), Boris Andiranov (Russia), David Geringas (Lithuania/Germany), Tsuyoshi Tsutsumi (Japan), and Meehae Ryo (South Korea) within its ranks.


More info at